Green Party members and supporters have come together to launch their campaign in a key Suffolk seat that is near the top of their national target list.

Waveney Valley is the new constituency that straddles the Suffolk/Norfolk border.

About 60% of it is in Suffolk - including towns like Bungay, Halesworth, Eye, and Stowupland as well as a number of villages. In Norfolk it includes the towns of Diss and Harleston.

The launch of the campaign was in Diss, the largest town in the constituency, and it was led by Adrian Ramsay, the national co-leader of the Greens who is standing in Waveney Valley.

The areas of East Suffolk and Mid Suffolk councils that are in the constituency are considered very fertile territory for the Greens - the party took them in last year's district council elections.

Mr Ramsay said: "We are getting a lot of people coming straight over to us from the Conservatives.

"They recognise that the country is in desperate need of a change - but that Labour does not have anything to offer a rural area like this.

"We have seen our message rings a chord  as well as our success in Suffolk last year we have now won two seats on South Norfolk council despite desperate attempts by the Tories to hang on."

Mr Ramsay said voters liked the party's plans to build more affordable rural homes and were also concerned about major energy infrastructure projects proposed for the area.

He said there should be a fresh look at them to try to avoid more pylons through the countryside.

But he felt the main emphasis of the campaign was the need to provide a voice for environmental concerns in the House of Commons. Waveney Valley is one of four national target seats for the party.

He said: "All the polls suggest there will be a Labour government with a huge majority after the election. We need to have a strong group in the House of Commons to ensure Sir Keir Starmer does not do a u-turn on any more Green commitments."

Richard Rout has been selected to contest Waveney Valley for the Conservatives and Gurpreet Padda is the Labour candidate. The full list of nominations will be published on Friday evening.